Landscapes and Seascapes

Peak District

There is no finer county in England than Derbyshire

Jane Austen

The Peak District is at the southern end of the Pennines, mostly in Derbyshire, and extending into Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Staffordshire, West Yorkshire and South Yorkshire.

The Kinder Trespass in 1932 was a landmark event in the campaign for open access to land, and eventually led to the formation of Britain’s national parks. The Peak District National Park became the United Kingdom’s first national park in April 1951. The first long-distance footpath in the United Kingdom was the Pennine Way, which opened in 1965.

The National Park Authority works towards sustainable development of the Peak District. This includes a commitment to improving the quality of people’s lives without using up natural resources that cannot be replaced. The countryside is one such resource as it cannot be replaced if destroyed.

November 2022

Leave a reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Portfolios